How To Qualify for a RDH License

Applicant has completed a dental hygiene educational program and examination.

Apply for the RDH license with supporting requirements. (see checklist)

Once licensure application is approved by DHBC, schedule and pass the CA Law & Ethics examination.

License Issued

RDH Licensure by Clinical Examination Checklist

- ☐ Application Fee of \$200.00.
- Diploma from an accredited Dental Hygiene educational program or letter from CA program director.
- ☐ Clinical Examination Score Report (Required if Dental Hygiene education out of state or beyond three (3) years of graduation date).
 - WREB Sealed Success Report
 - CRDTS Watermarked Score Report
 - ADEX Original Examination Score Report
- □ National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) score.
- ☐ Radiation Safety Certification (not applicable for California graduates).
- ☐ Basic Life Support Certification.
- ☐ Live Scan Fingerprints or Hard Card Fingerprints.
- ☐ Current Photograph.

If applicable, include documentation to support the following:

- Remedial Education completion.
- License Certification/Verification from other states or jurisdictions.
- Legal Name Change Documents.
- o Active Military/Military Spouse Documentation.
- Refugees, asylees, and special immigrant visa holder documentation.
- Special Accommodation Request.
- o Interim Therapeutic Restoration Certificate.
- Dental Radiographic Decision-Making Certificate.

RDH Licensure by Credential (LBC) Checklist

- ☐ Application Fee of \$200.00.
- □ Diploma from an accredited Dental Hygiene educational program.
- ☐ State or Regional Clinical Examination Score Report.
- □ National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) score.
- ☐ Out-of-State Radiation Safety Certification.
- ☐ Certification of Dental Hygiene Clinical Practice.
- □ Proof of 25 hours of continuing education including mandatory coursework from a California Dental Board approved providers in:
 - Dental Practice Act (2 hours)
 - Infection Control (2 hours)
 - Basic Life Support Certification
- ☐ License Certification/Verification from other states or jurisdictions.
- ☐ Live Scan Fingerprints or Hard Card Fingerprints.
- ☐ Current Photograph.

If applicable include documentation to support the following:

- Remedial Education completion.
- Legal Name Change Documents.
- Military/Military Spouse Documentation.
- Refugees, asylees, and special immigrant visa holder documentation.
- Special Accommodation Request.

Out of State Dental Hygiene Graduates Requirements

Graduates of Dental Hygiene educational programs located outside of California must complete the following to meet California dental hygiene educational standards.

Completion of training in Soft Tissue Curettage, Local Anesthesia, and Nitrous Oxide & Oxygen
Analgesia (SLN) which meet State of California standards. Completion of these courses through a
Board-Approved program is REQUIRED for licensure if not completed within a Board-Approved dental
hygiene educational program. You may complete the courses through a California approved course
provider, the courses are only available in California. Here' the link to SLN Course Information. Soft
Tissue Curettage, Local Anesthesia and Nitrous Oxide-Oxygen Analgesia Courses (SLN)

As of July 1, 2022, the Board has a new provision that will allow us to review Out-of-State (OOS) Dental Hygiene SLN education and training to determine whether it's equivalent to the SLN training received in CA The provision is completed through a separate application process for Board review. All SLN educational documentation must be submitted with the application and a \$500 *non-refundable* processing fee to review your OOS SLN education and training. If the OOS SLN education and training is unacceptable, the fee will not be refunded or applied to any other licensing requirement. Here is the link to the information, application, and instructions to submit the SLN documentation: Application for Certification of OOS Dental Hygiene Education

- Certification of completion of an ADA Radiation Safety Program. Your dental hygiene program director must complete the Out of State Radiation Safety Certification form which must include a certification seal/stamp. Certificate Form for Completion of ADA Radiation Safety Program
- If applicable, submit License Certification/Verification from every state where you have been issued a
 professional or vocational license; regardless of the current status of that license (i.e. Active, Expired,
 Cancelled, Revoked, etc.). <u>Out-of-State Licensure Certification Form</u>

IMPORTANT Note: A license cannot be issued until the Dental Hygiene Board of California has received and reviewed criminal background information from both the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the California Department of Justice. This process can take much longer if a criminal history does exist.

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PRACTICE DENTAL HYGIENE IN CALIFORNIA WITHOUT FIRST RECEIVING AN RDH LICENSE UNLESS UNDER THE TERMS OF THE FEDERAL SERVICEMEMBERS CIVIL RELIEF ACT (SCRA).

Laws and regulations specifically define the duties that each licensed category of dental hygienist is allowed to perform, the level of dentist supervision required, and the settings in which the duties may be performed. It is a criminal offense to perform illegal functions, as well as grounds for license discipline of both the person performing the illegal function and any person who aid or abets such illegal activity.

The duties and responsibilities that RDHs are allowed to perform are specified in Sections 1907 through 1915 of the Business and Professions Code. You may download a publication of our <u>laws and</u> regulations.

For specific questions about the RDH Application or Examination, please contact the DHBC at (916) 263-1978, or dhbcapplicantsinfor@dca.ca.gov or review the information on our website at www.dhbc.ca.gov.