
State of California 
Office of Administrative Law 

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY 
Dental Hygiene Board of California ACTION 

Regulatory Action: 
Government Code Section 11349.3 

Title 16, California Code of Regulations 

Adopt section: 1119 OAL Matter Number: 2022-1010-01 
Amend section: 1117 

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR) 

Business and Professions Code section 464 (added by Stats. 2016, ch. 473, sec. 1) 
authorizes any of the boards within the Department of Consumer Affairs to establish by 
regulation a system for a retired category of license for persons who are not actively 
engaged in the practice of their profession or vocation. In this regular rulemaking, the 
Dental Hygiene Board of California is establishing a system for a retired category for 
registered dental hygienists, registered dental hygienists in alternative practice, and 
registered dental hygienists in extended functions. 

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government 
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2023. 

Date: November 16, 2022 
Steven J. Escobar 
Senior Attorney 

Original: Anthony Lum, Executive Officer For: Kenneth J. Pogue 
Copy: Adina Pineschi-Petty Director 
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AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY 
AGENCY FILE NUMBER (if any)Dental Hygiene Board of California 

A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register) 
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE 

TITLE(S) FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATERetired Licensure 16 1119 (Formerly 1115) June 11, 2021
3. NOTICE TYPE 

4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBERNotice re Proposed FAX NUMBER (Optional
x Regulatory Action Other Adina Pineschi-Petty, DDS 916) 576-5002 (916) 263-2688 
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED NOTICE 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-1978 | F (916) 263-2688 | www.dhbc.ca.gov 

TITLE 16. DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF 
CONSUMER AFFAIRS ADOPTED LANGUAGE 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Legend: 

Underlined Indicates added regulatory language. 

Adopt Section 1119 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) 
to read as follows: 

Article 4. Licensing 

[NOTE: The text of Section 1117 is not being changed. Section 1117 is displayed to 
place it in Title 16, Division 11, Article 4.] 

$1117. Reporting Dental Relationships Between Registered Dental Hygienists in 
Alternative Practice and Licensed Dentists 

[No change to text.] 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1905 and 1906, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 1930, Business and Professions Code. 

$1119. Retired Licensure. 

(a) A retired license shall be issued to a registered dental hygienist (RDH). 
registered dental hygienist in alternative practice (RDHAP), or registered dental 
hygienist in extended functions (RDHEF) if the licensee meets the following 
requirements: 

(1) Holds an active license or an inactive license that was not placed on inactive 
status as a result of revocation or suspension; 

(2) Submits to the Board a completed "Application for a Retired RDH. RDHAP, or 
RDHEF License" DHBC RLC-01 (New 11/20), hereby incorporated by 
reference; and 

(3) Submits an $80 fee to the Board. 

(b) Once the Board has issued a retired license, the holder of a retired license shall: 

(1) Be exempt from continuing education requirements; 
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(2) Be exempt from renewal of the retired license; and 

(3) Utilize his or her professional title only with the unabbreviated word "retired" 
preceding or after the professional designation. 

(c) The holder of a retired license shall not engage in any activity for which an active 
RDH, RDHAP, or RDHEF license is required. 

(d) The Board shall not be prevented from investigating violations or taking action 
against a retired license for violations of laws governing the practice of dental 
hygiene. 

(e) To restore a license to active status, the holder of a retired license shall comply 
with the following requirements: 

(1) Submit a completed "Application for Reactivation of a Retired RDH, RDHAP. 
or RDHEF License" DHBC RLC-02 (New 10/20), hereby incorporated by 
reference: 

(2) Payment of a $160 fee as required by the Board; 

(3) Submit proof of completion of current continuing education requirements 
pursuant to 16 CCR sections 1016 and 1017; and 

(4) Comply with fingerprint submission requirements pursuant to 16 CCR section 
1132. 

(f) The holder of a retired license shall be allowed to provide to the public, without 
supervision, dental hygiene educational services, oral health training programs, 
oral health screenings, and application of fluoride varnish free of charge in any 
oral health public health program created by federal, state, or local law or 
administered by a federal, state, county, or local governmental entity, at a 
sponsored event by a sponsoring entity. The retired licensee shall refer any 
screened individuals with possible oral abnormalities to a dentist for a 
comprehensive examination, diagnosis, and treatment plan. For purposes of this 
section, the following shall apply: 

(1) "Sponsored event" shall be defined as in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of 
Section 1626.6 of the Code. 

(2) "Sponsoring entity" shall be defined as in paragraph (6) of subdivision (b) of 
Section 1626.6 of the Code 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 464, 1905, 1906 and 1944, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 464, 1906 and 1944, Business and Professions Code, 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen Street. Suite 1350 Sacramento, CA 95815 
P (916) 263-1978 | F (916) 263-2688 | www.dhbc.ca.govDEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER APFADES 

Application for a Retired RDH, RDHAP, or RDHEF License 
Business & Professions Code (BPC) sections 464, 1905, and 1906, and California Code of 

Regulations (CCR) Title 16, Division 11 section 1119. 

DHBC USE ONLY 

Non-Refundable Application Fee: $80 Receipt RC 
(Must accompany application) 

Date Filed $ 

Approved Denied 

RDH/RDHAP/RDHEF
Please type or print legibly. 

License Number O RDH O RDHAP Date Is your current license 
O RDHEF available 

Yes** ONo 
If yes, attach documentation 
to application 

Last Name First Name Middle Name 

Address of Record* 

City State Zip Code 

Home Phone Number Mobile Phone Number 

Email Address 

"The address you enter on this application is public information and will be available on the Internet 
pursuant to BPC section 1902.2(b). If you do not want your home address to be made public, you 
may instead provide a post office box or your business address 

IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

"Enclose your current license issued by the Board, if available, with this application. 
. A holder of a retired license may not engage in any activity for which an active license issued 

by the DHBC is required. 
In order to be eligible for a retired license, you must hold an active or inactive license issued by 
the Board as a registered dental hygienist, registered dental hygienist in alternative practice, or 
registered dental hygienist in extended functions that was not placed on inactive status as a 
result of revocation or suspension. 
If your license is expired, you must clear all outstanding requirements and renew the license 
before your application for a retired license will be processed. Expired licenses that cannot be 
renewed will not be processed. 

DHBC RLC-01 (New 11/20) 
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The holder of a retired license is not required to renew that license. 
The holder of a retired license is exempt from continuing education requirements.. 
The holder of a retired license shall be permitted to use his or her professional title only with 
the unabbreviated word "retired" preceding or after the professional designation. 

Changing to a retired status does not prevent the DHBC from investigating potential violations 
or taking action against your license for confirmed violations of laws governing the practice of 
dental hygiene. 

I have read and understand the information provided on this application, and I meet the 
requirements for a retired license. I certify that if I have not enclosed my current license, the 
license is lost. I hereby request that my license be placed in retired status. I certify under 
penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is true and 
correct. 

Signature: Date: 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of 
California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-
1978, in accordance with Business & Professions Code, section 1900 et seq. The information 

requested will be used to determine eligibility. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested 
information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to 
review his or her own personal information maintained by the agency as set forth in the Information 
Practices Act unless the records are exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the 
names(s) and address(es) submitted may, under limited circumstances, be made public. 

DHBC RLC-01 (New 11/20) 
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Application for Reactivation of a Retired RDH, RDHAP, or RDHEF License 
Business & Professions Code (BPC) sections 464, 1905, and 1906, and California Code of 

Regulations (CCR) Title 16, Division 11 sections 1016, 1017, and 1119 

DHBC USE ONLY 

Non-Refundable Application Fee: $160 
(Must accompany application) 

Receipt 

Date Filed 

RC 

$ 

Approved Denied 

Please type or print legibly. 
RDH/RDHAP/RDHEF# 

Date License Number O RDH O RDHAP Date License was Retired 
O RDHEF 

Last Name First Name Middle Name 

Address of Record* 

City State Zip Code 

Home Phone Number Mobile Phone Number 

Email Address 

"The address you enter on this application is public information and will be available on the Internet 
pursuant to BPC section 1902.2(b). If you do not want your home address to be made public, you 
may instead provide a post office box or your business address. 

IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

You may not practice dental hygiene, dental hygiene in alternative practice, or 
dental hygiene in extended functions until the Dental Hygiene Board of California (Board) 

approves your request to restore your retired license to active status. 

1. In order to reactivate a retired license, you must complete the same number of continuing 
education units that are required to renew an active license and submit the certificates of 
completion to the Board. Please refer to 16 CCR sections 1016 and 1017 for continuing education 
requirements. 

2. 16 CCR section 1132 requires licensees to furnish a full set of electronic fingerprints for the 
purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and criminal offender record information 
search. The Board shall not restore a retired license to active status until the licensee has 
complied with this requirement, if applicable. 
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3. Enclose your original retired license. 

4. Please certify the following: 

(a) Since retirement of DHBC licensure, I have not been convicted of, or under investigation for. 
any violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or other country. 

Note: You do not need to disclose traffic infractions with penalties under $1,000 unless the 
infraction involved alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances. 

Yes O No (if no, please explain on an attached sheet). 

(b) Since retirement of DHBC licensure, I have not been subject to discipline against any other 
healthcare license I hold. 

O Yes O No (if no, please explain on an attached sheet. 

I have read and understand the information provided on this application, and hereby request 
that my retired license be restored to active status. I certify under penalty of perjury, under the 
laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is true and correct. 

Signature: Date: 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of 
California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-
1978, in accordance with Business & Professions Code, section 1900 et seq. The information 
requested will be used to determine eligibility. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested 
information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to 
review his or her own personal information maintained by the agency as set forth in the Information 
Practices Act unless the records are exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the 
names(s) and address(es) submitted may. under limited circumstances, be made public. 

DHBC RLC-02 (New 10/20) 
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